True or False: Haribo's Marshmallows Are Vegetarian

True or False: Haribo's Marshmallows Are Vegetarian

Haribo Marshmallows are the perfect snack to have on hand for movie night or any other time you're looking for something sweet. They're great for toasting over the fire at a barbecue, melted into hot chocolate or tea, or even eaten straight from the bag! With HARIBO Chamallows Pink & White, you'll be able to create a variety of fun treats that everyone will love. Make gourmet s'mores by sandwiching two Chamallows between graham crackers with melted chocolate and roasted marshmallows on top. Or dip them in melted chocolate and create homemade lollipops! Kids will love helping out with these creative projects.

These marshmallows are one of those treats that will surely bring back childhood memoriesBut have you ever wondered if marshmallows are vegetarian?

Are Haribo Marshmallows Vegetarian?

Are Haribo marshmallows vegetarian? This is a question that all vegetarians have in mind. We've got the answer for you! Nosh Gourmet Foods are helping you with the truth behind Haribo's ingredients. Read on the blog and find out!

Haribo Marshmallows Ingredients

Please note: The below information is derived from Haribo’s official website.

Glucose syrup; sugar; dextrose; water; humectant: sorbitol syrup; gelatine; fruit and plant concentrate: beetroot, safflower; flavouring. 

Haribo Marshmallows: Nutritional Value Per 100g


1414kJ / 333kcal


<0.5g,0.1g of which saturates


80gof which sugars





Haribo makes many different types of gummy candies, including some that aren't vegetarian-friendly. Some Haribo products contain gelatin, which is made from animal bones and skin. Gelatin is a common ingredient in many sweets because it gives them a chewy texture and makes them stick together better during the manufacturing process.

This is an unfortunate fact of life for many vegans. Gelatin is a common ingredient in many confections, including marshmallows, gummy candies, and Jell-O. Gelatin is used in candy-making because it helps to make the treats softer and chewy. The ingredient can be made from cow or pig bones, fish scales, or even poultry feathers. Some people have allergies to gelatin or simply prefer not to eat it because it's an animal product — so if you're going vegan or vegetarian, you'll want to check labels carefully when looking for sweets with less-obvious sources of gelatin. Haribo's Marshmallows are made with gelatin, which is a protein that comes from animals. They're not vegetarian-friendly.

Gelatin is used to make these marshmallows chewy and bouncy, but it comes from collagen extracted from animal tissue — usually pigskins or cattle bones. This means that if you're looking for a vegan alternative to the classic sweet treat, you'll want to skip Haribo's Marshmallows.  Or if you are a core vegetarian and fond of marshmallows that you don’t want to give them up then go for an alternative ingredient for gelatin and that is agar agar powder. Agar agar is a plant-based gelatine substitute that's made from seaweed.


If you're a vegetarian and are uneasy about eating these Haribo marshmallows, then go for alternatives. And, if you're okay with traditional gelatin and want to try some out, they make a great snack that can be easily stored away in your purse or handbag. Either way, I hope this blog helped you clarify any doubt or apprehension that you may have had about these tasty sweets!

Check out our website for a variety of international snacks and imported confections. We provide the best of global brands with a touch of nostalgia and native flavours. Nosh provides an uninterrupted supply intending to make every bite count because we know how much you love to savour your munchies.